GeoGuide 3D – Test Run 2

After the initial kicking of the wheels, I wanted to try multitasking with the GeoGuide, in particular using a camera such as the Hipstamatic.

The app’s website indicates that the app needs to be on and not shut down in order for it to work when the iPhone is in standby mode.  I wanted to know if this applied if, for example, the camera was on and developing.  The iPhone can multitask, but not all programs are geared to do so.

 

The end results were – with fairly regular camera usage (107 pictures taken) as well as some internet useage (I forgot to turn off the wi-fi, that adds to drain), the iPhone lasted almost 4 hours before running out of juice (I should test it running GeoGuide only and see how long it lasts).

It continued to track me regardless of what other apps were running or that it was in sleep mode.  It even managed to track me in places I thought it wouldn’t – like inside the Army/Navy store and through the Pacific Centre.  I didn’t think it could do that.  More likely it simply updated when it could and connected the dots.

I set the recording intervals at 10 seconds and 10 meters, which resulted in a more jagged looking line (especially when I was going fast).  Apparently all told I biked and walked 22.26km today.  Not bad.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next up – Geocaching!

One thought on “GeoGuide 3D – Test Run 2

  1. It can probably track inside buildings using the same MEMs (Micro Electronic Mechanical devices) that give you the capability of using the iPhone as a level.

    In 1988 I commissioned the first study of MEM’s for Transport Canada. Stanford Research Institute were at the leading edge of the technology. It became one of the hottest topics in solid state device research. By 2001 I took a course in integrated INS/GPS where the lecturer was demonstrating production devices.

    What your iPhone probably does is use the MEM’s accellerometers that give you he leveling capability and processes the outpup to give a crude Inertial Navigation system. This system of itself is horrifically inaccurate but by using an algorithm called a Kalman filter it can continually calibrate the INS using GPS. After a while a set of corrections are extracted that can keep the INS reasonably accurate when GPS signals are blocked. Apparently there are apps (using a better set of MEM’s hardware) that can be quite accurate indoors for a fair length of time.

    Past Chairman Canadian Navigation Society

Comments are closed.