High… tech?

Gill and I went to Science World the other day instead of Grouse Mountain.  I thought it would be a good opportunity to take some pictures for my new project: Nostalgia of Future’s Past.

Basically I’m creating a second blog with the single purpose of showcasing modern technology through a nostalgic lens.  I’ve been building up a collection with different themes and subject matter, hoping to have a decent size to browse through already when I make it public (even though I’ll probably only get, like, twenty visitors 😉 ).

I had thought that Science World would be a great spot for looking at modern and advanced technology and showcase it in a nostalgic light.

I was wrong.  It’s already pre-nostaligized.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My god, what a disappointment.  I know Science World is undergoing major renovations, but the fact that it was allowed to get THIS outdated and unimpressive says it all.

Most of the stuff here is on par with what the Ontario Science Museum had twenty-odd years ago.  And you know what?  The 1990 Ontario Science Museum STILL kicks its ass.  I’m not even joking about the obsolescence of the place.  They had Alpine Racer there, a ski simulator video game from 1995.

That was the most advanced piece of technology they had.

To give you an idea of how high-tech this place felt, allow me to show you a video I cobbled together that day, parts of which take place inside Science World.

I was glad I went, though… I consider the money paid to be a pity donation to help them get that place updated with something from the 21st century in it.  Also, the Omnimax movie on the Hubble was just plain awesome.  The thing about Omnimax is, if you do it right you don’t need 3D glasses (which this place didn’t have, by the way).  Because it covers your peripheral vision as well, it feels more “real” than any 3D movie I’ve ever seen.  Watching the birth of stars inside of a nebula around a superstar was, dare I say, a spiritual experience.

