The Japan Disaster

Normally I don’t comment on current events in a blog.  I have other outlets for it.  But having lived in Tokyo for three years, I can’t help but imagine what I would have done if I was there.  I would have survived just fine – as far as I know all the places I lived and work weren’t hit so bad that I would have been in danger (in fact our place in Ichigaya was supposed to be one of the safest places to be in Tokyo due to its foundations.

But part of me wishes I was there.  I’d want to help, somehow.  Not just donate money, but get out there and help.  But I don’t speak Japanese so unless a bunch of us ex-pats got together to form a volunteer squad I would only have been in the way.  I wonder if anything like that is happening?

I hate that I’m in a place where I never feel like I can actually do anything.  I end up distancing myself from just about everything bad in the world because of it.  Why get emotionally involved in something you’re powerless over?

I hope everyone is doing what they can to help.

