Copyright and wrong

Lately I’ve been seeing the issues of copyright and piracy being explored (well, news flash, it has been forever.  But I digress).

I came across this interesting video, in which Neil Gaiman explains his experiences with piracy.

Which is interesting to say the least.  But I can’t help but think that the rules work differently for established writers.  He’s already “made it” and therefore piracy probably doesn’t affect him the same it would, say, me.

Then you have this going on in Canada, in which schools won’t have to pay copyright on writers works (which is where a lot of their stuff goes).

Obviously there is a point to be made here.

But what really made my stomach do flip flops was a bit of perspective that made me realize the house of cards we’re actually living on.  And go figure, this reality check comes from Cracked Magazine.

http://www.cracked.com/article_18817_5-reasons-future-will-be-ruled-by-b.s..html

The future of writers is a scary, uncharted and uncertain place.

