Seven Steps on the Writer’s Path: Step 7 – Fulfillment

While Immersion is what most writers live for, the end of the journey is a necessary and rewarding part as well.  The authors compare it to finishing a marathon, while in the middle of it some runners feel like they could run forever, they can even ignore injuries while in that trance, but they know that when they get to the end it’s all going to catch up to them and realize how hard it had been.  But they’re also relieved.  They made it.  It feels good.

This is the end of the journey, and where it ends up going full circle back to Step 1, because that satisfaction doesn’t last until you start feeling unsatisfied again.  At this point the writers give a number of examples of how the cycle can start over again, or even overlap.  And, of course, this chapter is meant to be that denouement that gives the rest of the steps meaning and purpose.

So, I’m done the book.  Is it a book I would recommend to other writers?  Definitely.  Without question.  What I say to you is that every person will take something different away from it.  Some might find the self-help talk really speaks to them, others might roll their eyes at it.  Some might find the whole book to be a revelation, while others might think ‘been there, done that’ but nevertheless find it useful to see how others have been through the same things they have.

At the very least it gives one perspective.  I’d even recommend it for non-writer.  Spouses of writers for one thing, so they can perhaps understand the madness of their partner a little better and maybe not get quite so huffy when they want to go to the movies when he or she has to finish another chapter (note the key differentiating word: want vs has).

But even if you’re not a writer, I think there is something to be said about those seven steps that applies to anyone’s career.  We work because we are trying to find satisfaction with ourselves.  We seek to have meaning through what we do.  Some of us hold down crap jobs because we have to.  I hate my job.  That’s unhappiness right there.  What do I really want to do?  Wanting.  I know what I want to do, I should do it.  Commitment.  I don’t know, at least my old job is secure.  Maybe I’ll screw up.  Maybe I won’t get it.  Maybe I shouldn’t try.  Wavering.  Screw it, let’s do it.  Letting Go.  And so on… until maybe you have the job but you’re not quite happy again.  The itch is back.  What do you need now?  Promotion?  Different position?  Regardless, it’s back to step one.

Well, that’s it.  I have to admit, this book was well worth reading and I will end up reading it again, I’m sure.  If recommend it if you feel stuck on your way to being a writer, or just being whoever you want to be.

