A Christmas Tradition

We all have Christmas traditions.  Some of us like to decorate plastic trees or watch Charlie Brown (or Shrek) learn the meaning of Christmas on TV.  Some unfortunate souls will go out caroling and make me want to throw snowballs at them – with rocks in them.  Oh, don’t get me wrong I don’t dislike the sentiment behind it, I just get creeped out by carols.  Always have.

But for me I have a special Christmas tradition, one that is becoming a part of more and more people every year.  A special Christmas movie made about 20 years ago, about someone trapped in a building taken over by thieves, and has to use all his wits to defeat them.

 

Nope.  Guess again.

 

 

There you go.

Now Die Hard is a Christmas tradition of mine, and you know, it’s not a bad one.  It is the archetypal GOOD action film, the one anyone who ever wants to make an action film should study (not copy – STUDY) to understand what makes action films work and why gun fights and explosions alone do NOT make an action film good.  I think you could have a whole film course just set around the importance of this one movie (well importance in terms of action films… I’m not going to say it’s Citizen Kane…)

Don’t get me wrong, I love It’s A Wonderful Life, A Christmas Carol and the rest, but I see nothing wrong with throwing in a classic of a different sort into the yuletide mix.  After all, it does take place during the holidays…

Yippee Kay Yay, Merry Christmas.

One thought on “A Christmas Tradition

  1. Walkin’ on Walkin’ on broken glaaas

    Can’t remember the group and I’ve probably screwed up the words but you get the idea

Comments are closed.