Death of a Salesman

Well, it’s over.  My days at the Arts Club are done.  And unlike what I expected at first, it wasn’t because I was fired.  The campaign ended, simple as that.

Hit me, baby, one more time!

Now that it’s all over, it turns out I didn’t suck.  I was, in fact, the top seller there, bringing in about $50,000 of the $400,000 our group made for the Arts Club.  Though to be honest my last month or two the sales were thin (Shades of Shelley “The Machine” Levine danced through my head).   But, yeah, top seller.  Who knew?

I don’t regret my time there (my boss and coworkers were all great) but telesales just isn’t for me.  Thing is, this was probably good practice for me.  Chances are when I start getting books sold I’m going to have to use those same skill to get stores to carry my book, do signings, and whatever else it takes to get myself noticed.  Not looking forward to that at all.

With the Arts Club done and dusted, I can focus my hours on the bookstore, where the pay is not dependent on commission, but it’s hardly a relaxed environment.  At least, not compared to my last bookstore job.  Still, it’s interesting and again the coworkers are great (always a plus).

The new year is going to be rough, I fear.  At the most I’ll be getting 25-30 hours a week at the bookstore, and barely making enough for rent and food. I might end up asking for more hours, but I had hoped to have some time to work on my books.  That might not be in the cards if things don’t turn around.

Gill is still job hunting but obviously ’tis not the season to be hiring (not in her line of work anyway).  We’ll be going to Sechelt for Christmas and celebrating New Years back here with Gill’s friend Kasia.  Probably go up to Grouse Mountain somewhere in between (we have tickets).

So here’s hoping for a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.  After that is anyone’s guess.

