And they’re off! NaNoWriMo Begins

And so beings thirty days of trying to write like a maniac.  I tend to be a 1000 word a day guy.  But that’s only because I’m frickin lazy.  I’ve done NaNo twice before so I KNOW I can write more.

But if I’m doing that, I wouldn’t expect much from me here for the next month.  I waste enough time on forums and whatnot.

I’ll be writing a light mystery this year.  It’s one I’ve written the outline for before, so I won’t be stuck in terms of plot points.

I might also be trying out a new program for windows (but old for the mac) called Scrivner, which is supposed to be excellent in terms of keeping writers organized.  We’ll see.

I am tempted to abandon my Moleskine for this just as a time saver.  As much as I enjoy writing down my first draft on paper, it will take twice as long to do it there, then type it out later.  Well, we’ll see.

For those of you interested in NaNoWriMo and are looking for humorous motivation – that is to say the assurance that you’re not alone when it comes to flailing around with words, distractions, expectations, and the like, I recommend a comic written by an old friend of mine – Debbie Ridpath Ohi.  She does a little comic called Will Write For Chocolate (something I wholeheartedly empathize with)

 

Just a couple of samples I liked 🙂  Be sure to check out the rest on your own.  And say Hi to Debbie while you’re there 😉

Now, it’s off to the races.  50,000 words?  No sweat.

