Finished another book. Question is, is it good?

Three months ago I started a new novel inspired loosely by a dream I had.  Really the dream revolved around one situation, and I built the story around that.  At this point almost nothing remains of that original seed other than two brief moments.

It is a very strange book.  I like it, but I don’t know if it’s good, or has the potential to become good.  More than my other books this one needs to be put into the drawer and “drain” for six weeks or so.  Maybe when I reopen it I’ll shriek in horror and throw it away.  Who knows?

In the meantime I’m going to re-read On Writing in preparation for National Novel Writer’s Month.  After writing a novel in three months, I’m going to try and do it again in just one.  It’s the writing equivalent of a marathon.

No worries, I’ve done it twice before in England.  This time, however, I have the advantage of having a complete story outline to work from, so it should all go smoothly.  I hope.

