Argh! I am undone!

Back in the saddle.

I just finished editing a novel.  It took longer than I expected.  Once I hit my groove and felt like I was editing the way I should be, it turned out I had to re-do my early chapters.

This book was actually the first novel the writer had written (she has since gone on to publish three others) and it showed.  Aside from a few major story and character problems I feel need addressing, most of my time was spent correcting the overuse of adverbs, progressive tense, and inappropriate dialog attribution.

So now I’m thinking “great I can relax.”   I haven’t read a book for pleasure for far too long, and I have my own book I need to finish writing (about 2/3 of the way done).

So I pick up the book I bought the other day after Tear The Curtain and settle down to the prologue…

… and immediately start picking up on the overuse of adverbs, progressive tense, and inappropriate dialog attribution.

ARRRRRGH!

One thought on “Argh! I am undone!

  1. Welcome to the club. Maybe we should coin a term for the affliction.

    Ever since Craig (my son for those who don’t know) graduated in Hotel Restaurant management, we cannot go into a restaurant without a running commentary on servers, bus boys, timing and all the other front of house trivia necessary to run a restaurant. It even spilled over into my watching of “Ratatouille”.

Comments are closed.