Priorities

So I’m running a bath.  I prefer baths to showers and I prefer to soak for a good long time in them, relaxing, reading, writing, or using my iPod Touch.

I’m guessing those of with a sense of narrative causality can already see where this is going.

I have my latest book  on the side of the tub, my iPod Touch on top of it.  This is something I’ve done a thousand times without incident for either separately, but somehow together they managed to make a collect call to Murphy and had him enforce the law.

With one gentle misplaced tap, I hear a sploosh, and both have fallen into the tub.

I cry out and immediately grab the book.  Only afterwards do I realize, what the hell?  THE IPOD IS STILL IN THERE!

I fish it out like a man grabbing his car keys out of  a fish tank full of pirhannas  It has a rubber protective case on it, but it’s not waterproof.  At first it works.  Ten minutes later it’s dead.

I sigh.  Par for the course with me, it seems.  I wrecked my Nintendo DS in a big pot of water a couple months ago.  But, hoping to salvage it, I break out the hairdryer and set it to warm/dry out the device for the better part of a half hour.

I plugged it back into my computer and, voila!  It connects!  The whole thing is blank/corrupted, but my iTunes has a complete backup of my files.  So it seems all is saved!

But that’s not what I wanted to write about.  It occurred to me shortly after the incident – I picked up the book first.

Why was that?

Was it because it was the bigger object?  More noticeable?  Maybe it was because I only bought it a couple days earlier, whereas the iPod was given to me.  Maybe it’s because I’ve had the book-in-the-tub thing happen to me before, but never an electronic device.  Granted, there was the DS incident, but that was in the kitchen, and I did run my phone through the washing machine… twice, but that’s not the same thing at all.

Personally I’d like to think that in the split second reaction of my mind, it valued a book over a machine.

