Arachnophobia

So I get home from work, damp and cold (first cold wet day in months) and I sit down in front of my computer to unwind.  I’m typing away when suddenly I notice something on my peripheral vision.  In fact, something moving right in front of me, on my glasses.

I’m not afraid of spiders, but they always freak me out when they catch me off guard, and this one REALLY tried hard to do that.  I didn’t spaz, but I did think the bugger had it in for me when it shot up into the air recoiling its thread.  It had dropped from the overhead light to land on my face.

Nice.

Figuring my spider problems were over, I settled in again.  When I got up for a drink, i saw something by the power cords.  I thought it WAS a power cord…

HOLY JESUS MARY MOTHER OF GOD WHAT THE HELL IS THAT?!?!?!

What it is is a Giant House spider.  They grow up to 4 inches long.  They possessed the world record for spider speeds until 1987.  They bite.

Mommy.

(That’s not it by the way, I was afraid I’d lose it if I took the time to take a picture of it.  Mine was bigger.)

