More Scott Pilgrim

So I go down to Chapters intending to buy the first volume of Scott Pilgrim and check it out.  Turns out each volume costs fifteen bucks, but they offer all six for sixty.

So I’m sixty bucks poorer today…

Meh, I was going to get them all anyway, if only so I could lend them out to other people, so I might as well save thirty bucks in the long run (actually I saved more than that, I have an account at Chapters and got an extra six bucks taken off).

Having gotten into Book 1, I can say that the movie remains very faithful to it, almost as if it used the comic as the initial story boards.  This is both a good and bad thing, because if I had a problem with the movie at all, it was in the first 20 minutes.

Fortunately, what was a weakness for the movie is a strength for the comic.  Much like a novel, you want to take the time to get to know characters and absorb things.  I’m digging it.

What made the movie’s intro weird is that they did this, while at the same time keeping a frenetic pace jumping from scene to scene, almost as if it was trying to cram character development as soon as possible and get it over with (they’re not, the pace is consistent throughout).

So it will be interesting to get to the point in the series where the movie takes off and see how it was adapted as well.

After that I’ll be checking out a comic my friend Nita lent me – Fell, by Warren Ellis

I’ve only read the first few pages of this, and put it aside because I know I need to dedicate an evening to enjoy it proper.   I love the look and the writing, and know it will be a dark tasty treat.

