What Now? Part II

The last journal entry had a bit of serendipity thrown into it. Granted the photo was staged, but I honest-to-god had checked my email while writing the entry and read my acceptance to Mundania at that exact point in the journal. As far as perfect moments go, that one ranks an 8 out of 10.

I didn’t bother to change the title because it seemed just as apt when I was done. “What now?” You might be surprised to note that I did not yell and scream from the rooftops, run out naked in the streets, or snort cocaine off a hooker’s breasts. After my initial reaction of shock, I quickly went back to my old self, as if nothing had happened. We went to Denny’s for brunch, but that had more to do with Canada Day than the acceptance.

What now?

Fine, I got a book accepted, but it’ll be over six months before it sees print. What do I do in the meantime? Well, once I get some feedback on a story idea I have I’m hoping my agent will greenlight it and I can get to work on that. It’s not that I need her to approve anything, but after her reaction to my previous novel, I figured I should at least try a different approach.

Normally, I create the story as I go along. I get an idea of characters, quirks, and plot, and have a notion of how it will end, but largely let the novel write itself as I go along. This is a perfectly valid way of writing which I enjoy, but there is something to be said for having more structure beforehand, especially if what you’re writing is a mystery.

Still, I’m a little surprise by my lack of enthusiasm. Maybe it’s because it’s a small publisher. Maybe it’s because the pessimist in me believes it could still go tits up before I reach the finish line. Maybe I’m afraid it won’t matter a hill of beans in the long run, since I’ve heard from other writers who have had books published and still haven’t gotten anywhere in years.

Yes sir, a dose of reality can bring you down from any high.  But one shouldn’t be stuck in a rut.  You have to change things up a bit…

…now what?

