The Joy of Cooking… and completely destroying your Nintendo DS.

Master Chef Noah is back on the scene, trying his hand at a new culinary masterpiece – chicken pie. The difference being I made it entirely from scratch, all raw meat, vegetables and other ingredients. Only the crust was premade, and if I had to I would have made that as well.

My brother gave me The Joy of Cooking as a wedding present, and I was going to use it to make this, but it turned out an almost identical recipe was on the cooking program I have on Gillian’s Nintendo DS.

It’s got great features. It will tell you how many calories the recipe is you’re making, gives you a shopping list you can check off to make sure you have what you need, and while cooking you can simply say “Continue” or “Go Back” to navigate through the illustrated steps, which the DS reads aloud, thus freeing up your hands.

Of course, the voice recognition is crap, and half the time it went back instead of forward, the illustrations just show general pictures of ingredients being prepared, and in the end the whole thing fell into a big pot of water.

The pie however turned out great!

(Oh, and I owe Gillian a new DS)

One thought on “The Joy of Cooking… and completely destroying your Nintendo DS.

  1. Anything you can do,
    I can do better.
    I can do anything
    Better than you.

    No, you can’t.
    Yes, I can. No, you can’t.
    Yes, I can. No, you can’t.
    Yes, I can,
    Yes, I can!

    Anything you can be
    I can be greater.
    Sooner or later,
    I’m greater than you.

    No, you’re not. Yes, I am.
    No, you’re not. Yes, I am.
    No, you’re NOT!. Yes, I am.
    Yes, I am!

    I can shoot a partridge
    With a single cartridge.
    I can get a sparrow
    With a bow and arrow.
    I can live on bread and cheese.
    And only on that?
    Yes.
    So can a rat!………….

    ……I can jump a hurdle.
    I can wear a girdle.
    I can knit a sweater.
    I can fill it better!
    I can do most anything!
    Can you bake a pie? No.
    Neither can I.

    Excerpt’s from “Annie Get Your Gun”

    Irving Berlin 1946

    Some things NEVER change

Comments are closed.