Why Would You Comb a Beach, Anyway?

Anyone remember The Beachcombers?

Yeah, me neither.

I mean, I KNOW it. What Canadian doesn’t? I even watched it when I was a kid, but I’ll be damned if I remember anything about it. I was too young, and it was too uninteresting. Hell, I didn’t even know what a beachcomber was. It’s just a word.

As far as I could tell the show was about a bunch of people with boats who hung out in a restaurant called Molly’s Reach and tried not to be boring. One guy was named Relic, but I always thought his name was Relish. The only reason I remember him is he was a grumpy old guy who lived on his boat and was therefore the least boring character.

The star was Bruno Gerussi, who was probably best known in Canadian entertainment for always being drunk. Plenty of American actors are known for that, too, but not so many Canadians. At least he didn’t call any female police officers “sugar tits.”

There was an RCMP officer in the show, a tall bald-ish guy I recognized in tons of other shows as “yaknow, that guy from Beachcombers.”

And… that’s about it. I couldn’t tell you a damn thing about the show itself. Which is kind of a shame, since the Sunshine Coast’s only real claim to fame is that show. Molly’s Reach still exists and from what I hear its prices are a bit on the high side, still able to bank on Beachcomber tourism. Go figure.

Why do I bring all this up? Well, after the storm yesterday I looked out the window into Georgia Strait. The night before the wind had howled like a ghostly wolf. The rain pounded, windows rattled, waves crashed and lights flickered. A search and rescue helicopter patrolled the sky for hours, sometimes passing within a couple hundred yards of us.

Today it’s calm and pleasant, and out on the Strait I see a couple of things like tug boats, rounding up drifting logs into corrals and then dragging them away. And it suddenly clicks.

“Ohhhhhhh, so THAT’S what they were doing on the show.”

