More Exploration

While Gill and I continue to look for work and/or a place to live in Vancouver, I still have a lot of free time on my hands, and a great big set of woods to explore.

Today I decided to meet Gillian and her parents at Starbucks, but took the long route around, through as many back woods as possible.

At first I wandered through the woods between two of the local streets, finding a chicken coup and some live traps along the way.

After that I went along Resevoir Road, which quickly became a dirt road.  A dozen or so yards to the side was an overgrown trail where the water pipe was buried under.  Halfway to the resevoir in the middle of forested nowhere I came across a lone fire hydrant.

Near the resevoir is an open pit mine where sand is collected and shipped off to god-knows-where.  Next to it is a motorcross race track.  I’m not sure how well the pictures I took of it do it justice, because that track looked like a hella-fun ride.

At first I thought I’d have to backtrack all the way home from there.  There is no way through the pit mine and the motorcross track looked like a dead end.  However, I found a small trail at the end of it near the fence which took me meandering all the way down to the coastal road, right next to the Starbucks I was supposed to meet Gillian at.  Nice hike, I’ll have to do it again.

I ended up taking a number of pictures along the way – some at a distance, some up really close.  Click on the picture and you should be able to go through the gallery one at a time.

