National Novel Writer’s Month

Also known as “NaNoWriMo”

http://www.nanowrimo.org

Now, I don’t know how busy you gals are.  Maybe you don’t have any free time,and maybe you have more free time than you know what to do with.  But I know Nita has a writer in her just wanting to get out, and I bet Shar and Kasia might as well.

Think of this as a Marathon for writers.  The object is to write a 50,000 word novel in 1 month, starting November 1st, ending November 30.  Obviously what you produce won’t end up being Shakespere, but then, neither is anyone else’s.

Why would you want to do this?  Well for one thing, it’s a challenge. The literary equivilent of climbing Mount Fuji 😉

For another, IF you complete the novel you get a free bound copy of the novel sent to you.  If you want additional copies you have to pay for them.  Yeah, it’s vanity publishing, and I’m sure they make a nice amount from people who are just pleased as punch about their little bit of drivel that they want to buy copies for their friends and family, but I don’t care about that.  If the one copy is free, that’s good enough for me 😉  I’m willing to play the game, but not willing to spend a dime on it.  But you don’t have to, that’s my point.

Anyway, I thought you guys might like the idea of challenging yourselves to write a novel in a very short period of time, just to see what happens, and get a nice souvenier/trophy if you succeed 🙂

If you decide to join, my profile is here, add me to your buddy list and we’ll be able to keep track of each other’s progress:

http://www.nanowrimo.org/userinfo.php?uid=133545

